National Capital Junior Hockey League Championship Series Schedule

By ChrisLethbridge
Mar. 20, 2017

The Embrun Panthers and North Dundas Rockets are the NCJHL finalists battling it out for the John A. Cameron Trophy.  The Panthers are in a very familiar position, playing in the finals for the 15th time in 17 years, they are seeking their 18th Championship.  The Rockets, founded in 2011, are the leagues youngest franchise and have reached the finals for the first time.  

The teams split the first two games of the best-of-seven series, with the home team winning each time.  Embrun took game 1, 6-3.  North Dundas tied the series up after a 4-1 win in game 2.  

Embrun have had home ice advantage throughout the playoffs after finishing the regular season six points clear of second place with a record of 22-8-2.  North Dundas finished 3rd with a record of 18-14.  

The regular season champs cruised through the first two rounds beating both Morrisburg and Gatineau in four straight games.  The Rockets faced a 2-1 series deficit in their quarter-final series against Cumberland, but rallied for three straight wins to take the series.  They followed that with a four game sweep of Vankleek Hill.  

The Rockets are lead by Regular Season MVP Bryden Van Kessel and the Regular Season top scorer Brandon Mullin.  Embrun last won the league championship in 2014.  They have not had a 3 year period without a championship since 1998-2000.  

Game 3 - Friday, March 24, 8:00pm  at Embrun Arena

Game 4 - Saturday, March 25, 7:30pm  at Chesterville & District Arena

Game 5 - Sunday, March 26, 1:30pm  at Embrun Arena

Game 6 - Thursday, March 30, 8:00pm  at Chesterville & District Arena

Game 7 - Friday, March 31, 8:00pm  at Embrun Arena