UEFA Europa League third qualifying draw in Nyon

By Andrew Scott
Aug. 10, 2017

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Zenit, AC Milan and Fenerbahçe were among the sportsbook favorites that entered the fray in Friday's UEFA Europa League third qualifying draw. A grand total of 58 teams will compete in the third qualifying round; 25 teams that will enter in this round, plus the 33 winners of the second qualifying round. The first legs was held on July 27th and the second legs was held on August 3rd 2017.

Second qualifying round draw

· PSV Eindhoven vs. Osijek or Luzern

· Norrköping or Trakai vs. Shkëndija or Helsinki

· Krasnodar vs. Slovan Bratislava or Lyngby

· Sturm Graz or Mladost Podgorica vs. Fenerbahçe

· Panathinaikos vs. Gabala or Jagiellonia Białystok

· Shamrock Rovers or Mladá Boleslav vs. Kairat Almaty or Skënderbeu

· Austria Wien vs. Progrès Niederkorn or AEL Limassol

· Dinamo Zagreb vs. Vaduz or Odd

· Dinamo București vs. Athletic Club

· Olimpik Donetsk vs. PAOK

· Arka Gdynia vs. Ferencváros or Midtjylland

· Östersunds or Galatasaray vs. İnter Bakı or Fola Esch

· Bordeaux vs. Nõmme Kalju or Videoton

· Maccabi Tel-Aviv or KR Reykjavík vs. Panionios or Gorica

· Valletta or Utrecht vs. Haugesund or Lech Poznań

· CSU Craiova vs. AC Milan

· Brøndby or VPS Vaasa vs. Hajduk Split or Levski Sofia

· Gent vs. Altach or Dinamo Brest

· Astra Giurgiu or Zirë vs. Olexandriya

· Everton vs. Ružomberok or Brann

· Aberdeen or Široki Brijeg vs. Apollon Limassol or Zaria Balti

· Irtysh Pavlodar or Crvena zvezda vs. Sparta Praha

· Beitar Jerusalem or Botev Plovdivv vs. Marítimo

· Zenit vs. Trenčín or Bnei Yehuda Tel-Aviv

· Marseille vs. Oostende

· Freiburg vs. Valur Reykjavík or Domžale

· Cork City or AEK Larnaca vs. Rabotnicki or Dinamo Minsk

· Željeznicar or AIK vs. Braga

· Liepāja or Sūduva vs. Sion

Plenty of options for sportsbook users to choose from. Seven-time European champions Milan will be playing the UEL for the first time as well as returning to continental competition for the first time since the 2013-14, and will face CSU Craiova. Meanwhile, Everton, who finished 7th in the English Premier League last season and were Albion's top seeds in Friday's draw in Nyon, will meet either Ruzomberok or Brann – the latter of whom currently have a slight 1-0 lead from the first leg of their second qualifying round tie versus Ruzomberok, which was held Thursday night in Slovakia.

Elsewhere, PSV Eindhoven will face the winner of the Osijek-Luzern matchup while Turkish Fenerbahce will square off against Sturm Graz or Mladost Podgorica. Marseille takes on Oostende, and Athletic Bilbao goes up against Dinamo Bucharest. Scottish Aberdeen will encounter either Apollon Limassol or Zaria Balti, provided they can get through NK Siroki Brijeg; the Bosnian team got away with a 1-1 tie in the first leg of the second-qualifying round at Pittodrie on Thursday.

The draw determined 29 matchups which were divided into five groups. The winners will move on to the Europa League playoff round, which will also feature the 15 losers from the Champions League third qualifying round. The draw for the UEL group stages will be held on August 25th, with 16 clubs having earned automatic admittance – including FA Cup champions Arsenal, who finished 5th in the English Premier League. Once again, plenty of options for sportsbook users to choose from.