Hurricane Football hosts Season Ending Banquet.

Mark Hrko.

It was a night to celebrate a great season. One in which the 2016 Hurricane Redskins, Coach Taylor admitted, was not picked by a single rival MSAC coach to win better that 4 games. Well a 4-0 start made those predictions look foolish, and the Redskins won 6 regular season games and went into the AAA Playoffs as a #12 seed. An upset of University placed Hurricane in the Elite 8, and only a heartbreaking loss to Morgantown kept the 2016 Redskins from being the first team in school history to reach the Final 4.

A loss at Pony Lewis field ended the dream,

After thanking his coaches, the parents, and recognizing 42 Underclassmen, it was time to call all 21 Seniors up to the podium, and thank them individually. Coach Taylor kidded about Boobie's never-ending smile, Hunter Horns "R" Rated Sideline vocabulary, and Dylan Plumley's leadership ability, "some follow you because they like you and you are a good leader, others follow you because they are dumber than a bag of rocks, Taylor quipped. 

Boobie smiling as always

The  announcing of the season ending award winners is a tradition at the Banquet. The 2016 Most improved Redskin is Isiah Thomas. Thomas returned to Hurricane and played football on the varsity level for the first time as a senior. He started from game one and created a fumble that Lucas Cooper returned for the first Hurricane Touchdown of the season against Winfield. Isiah grew as the season went on and made the Defensive play of the year when he returned a interception 100 yards in the Redskins' playoff win over University.

Isiah stripped the football leading to a recovery and a Redskin TD!

Isiah Thomas Most Improved!

The 2016 Hurricane Lineman of the year was shared between two stalwarts and Iron men of the Offense Line, Mark Lindmark and Max Hrko. These 2 year starters never missed a game and rarely missed an assignment. They held the line together with effort and determination. A key to the 2017 will be feeling the shoes of Hrko and Lindmark.

 Hrko was previously honored as a member of the All Kanawha Team by the WV Gazette-Mail earlier in the week.

Max Hrko

Max Hrko Co-Lineman of the Year.

Matt Lindmark

Matt Lindmark Co-Lineman of the year.

The 2017 Hurricane Redskin Offensive Player of the Year was awarded to QB Dylan Plumley. Perhaps well deserved just for Plumley's ability and willingness to play QB for the first time on the varsity level, and moving over from defense to take on this role. Plumley passed for 1304 yards with 12 TDs and only 5 Interceptions. He also rushed for 306 yards and a team leading 8 scores. 

Dylan Plumley 2016 Redkin Offensive player of the year

Dylan Plumley

The Hurricane Redskin Defensive player of the year, For the SECOND CONSECUTIVE YEAR was Lucas Cooper! Coach Taylor claims this award has NOT been won during consecutive years for 30 seasons. Cooper, listed at 5' 8 165 lbs when being named to the All Kanawha Valley Team by the WV Gazette Mail earlier in the week, led the Redskins with 104 tackles, while also leading in both solos tackles (67) and assisted tackles (37). Cooper added 4 sacks, 2 fumble returns for touchdowns and 10 tackles for loss. Lucas' brothers Kyle and Zach, who both played Linebacker in college at DI Robert Morris, have their names listed on the Hurricane Defensive Player of the year trophy, Lucas' name is now listed twice!

Lucas Cooper 205-2016 Hurricane Defensive Player of the Year.

Set the tone on the first series of the season

Lucas flying tackle against Midland

Congratulations to Isiah, Max, Matt. Dylan and Lucas, and all the 2016 Senior Redskin players. Thanks to Coach Taylor, Defensive Coordinator Pratt and the entire Coaching staff, all the players and especially the Team Moms (Mrs Hrko. Mrs Williams, and Mrs McCallister)!!!!!!