MLB Awards Reaction

By sportsheaven19
Nov. 19, 2016

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

By: Tyler Heyl

This week was when MLB announced their individual awards for both the AL and NL. There was not to many surprises in the awards and the baseball writers did a great job of picking the winners.


AL: Mike Trout

Mike Trout (.315 average, 100 RBIs, 29 home runs) is consistently one of the best players in the American League. However, his team, the Los Angeles Angels, have only made the playoffs in 2014 when he won his last MVP, which has hurt his stock. This year, the committee recognized Trout’s amazing year and his league-leading 10.6 wins above replacement.

NL: Kris Bryant

Kris Bryant (.939 OPS, 102 RBIs, 39 home runs) continues to impress after winning the National League Rookie of the Year. He was a key bat in the middle of the order for a Chicago Cubs team that won the World Series. Bryant the easily the most deserving selection.

Cy Young

AL: Rick Porcello

There wasn’t a clear-cut winner this year since no pitcher in the AL was dominant. Rick Porcello narrowly edged out Justin Verlander, 137-132. Porcello had a 22-4 record with a 3.14 ERA, 1.009 WHIP, and 5.91 Strikeout to Walk ratio. Verlander has a similar stat line of a 16-9 record with a 3.04 ERA, 1.001 WHIP, and a 4.46 Strikeout to Walk ratio. Both pitchers deserved the Cy Young but Porcello was slightly more dominant than Verlander.

NL: Max Scherzer

Max Scherzer beat out two Cubs pitchers, Jon Lester and Kyle Hendricks for the award. He led the NL in strikeouts (284), strikeout to walk ratio (5.07), and WHIP (.97). He was easily the most dominant pitcher in the NL and he showed it May 11th when he struck out 20 batters against the Detroit Tigers.

Manager of the Year

AL: Terry Francona

The best manager in baseball. Terry Francona showed his managerial experience this season, especially in the playoffs. He took the dominant bullpen to the next level. After the Indians acquired Andrew Miller at the deadline, Francona installed him as a “fireman” instead of a set inning reliever. He would come in at key moments in the game with to limit the opponent from scoring. Miller was so valuable in this role that he was the ALCS MVP.

NL: Dave Roberts

Even though Joe Maddon led the Cubs to their first World Series victory since 1908, Dave Roberts was more deserving of the award. The Dodgers had so many injury problems this year, but they still won the NL West because of the great managerial season of Roberts. 15 different pitchers made starts for the Dodgers and their ace Clayton Kershaw was limited to 21 starts. With all of the turnover in the starting rotation, Roberts had his work cut out for him in 2016.

Rookie of the Year

AL: Michael Fulmer

Michael Fulmer had a solid campaign for the Detroit Tigers. In 159 innings and 26 starts he posted a 3.06 ERA, 1.111 WHIP, and 3.14 strikeouts to walk ratio. However, Gary Sanchez, catcher for the New York Yankees was more deserving. In only 200 plate appearances Sanchez had a 1.032 OPS, 20 home runs, and 42 RBIs. He only appeared in 53 games which puts a dent in his candidacy, but what he did in 53 games was history and he should have been named the Rookie of the Year.

NL: Corey Seager

There was nobody more qualified than Los Angeles Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager. He hit 27 home runs, 72 RBIs, and a .877 OPS. Seager was also a finalist for the MVP award and won a silver slugger. In one year, Seager showed in one season he is the best shortstop in the NL.