Bayern Munich wins 5th consecutive Bundesliga title

German champions; Bayern Munich secured a fifth consecutive Bundesliga title after beating Wolfsburg 6-0 to open up an unassailable 10-point lead with three matches left to play in the 2016/2017 season. The Bavarians, who have won 27 German championships, are on 73 points, with league debutants RassenBallsport Leipzig in second place on 63 after they were held to a goalless draw by Ingolstadt.

The Bundesliga’s leading scorer Robert Lewandowski scored twice to take his league goal tally to 28 and David Alaba, Thomas Müller, Arjen Robben and Joshua Kimmich were also on target as Bayern rode roughshod over the hosts.

Bayern finished off the relegation-threatened Wolves with three more goals in the second half, and the hosts were also reduced to 10 men following the dismissal of former Bayern player Luiz Gustavo.

Bayern had promised to bounce back following their midweek German Cup semi-final defeat to Borussia Dortmund and the Champions League exit to Real Madrid.

They had also failed to win either of their last two league matches, going five games without a win in all competitions.

“The league is the most honest of titles,” said Bayern’s chief executive Karl-Heinz Rummenigge. “And now we have won it for the fifth straight time. That is something unusual and amazing. We will have a good party tonight and then on the last matchday with the fans.”