NHL All-Star Rosters Announced

By kaplanssportstory
Jan. 10, 2017

Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

For the second straight season, the NHL will feature a 3 on 3 divisional tournament for the All-Star game. Each game will be 20 minutes. It will be the Pacific vs Central and Atlantic vs Metropolitan. The winners of each game will then face off in the final. The division that wins the tournament will get a $1,000,000 cash prize. 

The coaches in the game will be Michel Therrien (MTL/Atlantic), John Tortorella (CBJ/Metropolitan), Bruce Boudreau (MIN/Central), and Peter DeBoer (SJ/ Pacific). The Pacific Division won the tournament last season. 

Atlantic All-Stars: Forwards: Nikita Kucherov (TB), Brad Marchand (BOS), Auston Matthews (TOR), Frans Nielsen (DET), Kyle Okposo (BUF) and Vincent Trocheck (FLA). Defenseman: Victor Hedman (TB), Erik Karlsson (OTT), and Shea Weber (MTL). Goalies: Carey Price (MTL/Captain) and Tuukka Rask (BOS). 

Possible Snubs: Jack Eichel (BUF), David Pastrnak (BOS), and Morgan Reilly (TOR).

Metropolitan All-Stars: Forwards: Sidney Crosby (PIT/Captain), Taylor Hall (NJ), Evgeni Malkin (PIT), John Tavares (NYI), Wayne Simmonds (PHI), and Alex Ovechkin (WSH). Defenseman: Justin Faulk (CAR), Seth Jones (CBJ), and Ryan McDonagh. Goalies: Sergei Bobrovsky (CBJ) and Braden Holtby (WSH).

Possible Snubs: Phil Kessel (PIT), Michael Grabner (NYR), Claude Giroux (PHI), Cam Atkinson (CBJ), and Justin Schultz (PIT).

Central All-Stars: Forwards: Patrick Kane (CHI), Patrik Line (WPG), Nathan McKinnon (COL), Tyler Seguin (DAL), Vladimir Tarasenko (STL), and Jonathan Toews (CHI). Defenseman: P.K. Subban (NSH/Captain), Duncan Keith (CHI), and Ryan Suter (MIN). Goalies: Corey Crawford (CHI) and Devan Dubnyk (MIN).

Possible Snubs: Artemi Panarin (CHI), Eric Staal (MIN), Jake Allen (STL), and Pekka Rinne (NSH). 

Pacific All-Stars: Fowards: Connor McDavid (EDM/Captain), Jeff Carter (LA), Johnny Gaudreau (CAL), Bo Horvat (VAN), Ryan Kesler (ANA), and Joe Pavelski (SJ). Defenseman: Brent Burns (SJ), Drew Doughty (LA), and Cam Fowler (ANA). Goalies: Martin Jones (SJ) and Mike Smith (ARI). 

Possible Snubs: Leon Draisaitl (EDM), Corey Perry (ANA), and Chad Johnson (CAL). 

The All-Star Skills Competition will take place on Saturday January 28 at 9 p.m. eastern on NBC. The All-Star Game will take place on Sunday January 29 at 3:30 p.m. eastern on NBC.