Who Are The 2016 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award Finalists

By Princess Cooper
Dec. 06, 2016

P.J. Fleck, Western Michigan: Fleck has taken the Broncos (13-0) to their first unbeaten regular season in school history and back-to-back-to-back bowl appearances for the first time. 

James Franklin, Penn State: After a dismal 2-2 start and fans and alum alike call for his job Franklin turned the season around. The Nittany Lions won nine straight games to win the Big Ten Conference in Franklin’s third season in Happy Valley. The Nittany Lions rallied from a 21-point deficit to beat Wisconsin, 38-31, in the Big Ten title game. 

Mike MacIntyre, Colorado: The Buffaloes had won only two of their previous 27 Pac-12 Conference games prior to this season

Chris Petersen, Washington: Petersen’s team has made a breakthrough nationally, earning a spot in the College Football Playoff with a 12-1 record. After what he did at Boise State, you would have to say Petersen has the formula for winning in CFB. 

Nick Saban, Alabama: He vying for its fifth national title in eight years.