Starting From The Top - Knaus Draws Pole For Sprint Unlimited

The luck of the draw: Jimmie Johnson, driver of the #48 Lowes Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports, holds his front row trophy after his crew chief Chad Knaus drew the top spot securing Jimmie the pole position for Saturday Night's Sprint Unlimited. Credit:

You couldn't get any luckier than Chad Knaus.

After all, when all the crew chiefs stepped up to draw starting positions for their drivers, Knaus drew the position # 1 - the pole. Johnsonon has visited victory lane 3 times in his career at the two and a half mile track.

Racing is finally back at Daytona International Speedway, something that race fans have been itching for all winter. And it couldn't come with a better gift for Johnson fans. 

Brad Keselowski will also start on the front row in second, followed by the 47 of A.J. Allmendinger in third. Kyle Larson will start fourth in his Chip Gnassi Racing # 42 Chevy, and Ryan Newman, Daytona's 2008 winner, will round out the top five.

Reigning Sprint Cup Champion Kyle Busch will start in the ninth position. 

The green flag is set to drop at 8:15pm on Saturday night, and the race can be seen on Fox and heard on Sirius XM Nascar Radio CH 90 and the Motor Racing Network.

Below is the complete list of starting positions courtesy of

1. Jimmie Johnson

2. Brad Keselowski

3. AJ Allmendinger

4. Kyle Larson

5. Ryan Newman

6. Casey Mears

7. Martin Truex Jr.

8. Clint Bowyer

9. Kyle Busch

10. Austin Dillon

11. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

12. Danica Patrick

13. Matt Kenseth

14. Paul Menard

15. Denny Hamlin

16. Greg Biffle

17. Aric Almirola

18. Brian Vickers

19. Carl Edwards

20. Kasey Kahne

21. Kurt Busch

22. Kevin Harvick

23. Dale Earnhardt Jr.

24. Jamie McMurray

25. Joey Logano